Thursday Thought #6

even-if-youre-on-the-right-track

So if you follow me on Twitter you’ll know that I wasn’t going to post one of these tonight, but I decided I to take a look through the quotes I already had made up and this one jumped out at me (mostly for the bad spacing of the text, but the quote is pretty relevant too). So I thought, sod it- uni can wait… something I’ve been thinking way too often recently, and that’s what I want to talk about. I can’t remember if I went into this in my University First Impressions post, and honestly I really don’t have time to check so I’m rolling with it while its in my head.

When I got accepted to Uni, I thought that was it. I honestly believed that my life would just fall into place there and then. In relation to the quote, I guess school was just a road and university is the motorway… does that even make any sense? I guess you could say I thought it would accelerate me to my end point? Who knows, I’ve been up since 6am, I’m a little delirious. But in all seriousness, I thought I wouldn’t mind the work because it’s what I really wanted to be doing, and the experience would overrule any stress- which i can now see was unbelievably stupid.

I’ve done more work in the past three weeks than I did in the last two years in high school. Actually, let me rephrase, I’ve been given more work than I ever did in my last two years of high school. Have I done it? No. Why? Because I’m a massive idiot.  I’ve never been more overwhelmed with a workload in my entire life, and for someone like me who is usually extremely organized when it comes to this stuff, I don’t know how to cope.

It admittedly does take me a while to get settled into things, especially a massive life change like this,  and this is only week three of my course so I can kinda understand my own frustrations. University just has a different pace to anything I’ve ever experienced before, and it doesn’t help that I’m not used to the methods they use to teach yet.  I’m totally not an auditory or visual learner. I’ve always been a kinesthetic learner, so I need to be doing, and sitting in lecture theaters is so draining. I’m having to write, write and rewrite to get things in my head, which is taking up so much time, and so my to do list is growing faster than I’m able to get things done.

I’m sorry if this was boring, its honestly more for myself, and with the time of year maybe this is happening to some of you too? Acceptance is the first step of overcoming a problem, right? I have a problem. I’m sitting on that road and there’s trucks coming at me. I need to get up.

Maybe if I ever manage to conquer the workload I’ll update you, but I can’t see it happening any time soon. Footnote

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Thursday Thought #6

  1. Joanne Amarisa (@JoanneAmarisa) says:

    Ahh, totally relate on this whole massive workload thing. Seasons like these always come at some points in our lives, you know, and it just overwhelms us!
    I hope you have a good week ahead though! Best of luck for trying to settle into things, though. It takes time and effort, but just stay motivated and true to yourself!
    Have a good one x

    Joanne | Life in Blue Skies

    Like

Leave a Reply

