University // First Impressions

I made it! After a long, long coming I made it to University, and all I can say is: I’m exhausted. Well that’s not all I can say, but I’ll get into that later. I’m probably exaggerating but I don’t think I’ve ever been more tired in my life- except where jet-lag was factored in. I feel like I’ve been dreaming about university for a long time and now that I’m there, all I want to do is be in bed dreaming about something else.

img_3173

First, The Basics

I go to Strathclyde University in Glasgow, proof is in the Student ID pictured above (no judgement on the photo, please and thank you, it’s not my finest). It’s in the heart of town so I already knew my way around, which was a massive bonus. I couldn’t imagine the nervousness of starting uni also mixed with the nerves that come with being somewhere extremely foreign to you. As you can probably tell from the next few pictures (taken in between a break from classes and rainstorms, typical Scotland) it’s not the prettiest of campus’s, if I had wanted pretty I could’ve went to the Hogwarts runner up,  University of Glasgow. But, Strathclyde Business School is among the few to be endorsed by all three international accrediting bodies, making it one of the top business schools in the world- which is helpful me as I’ve gone to a business degree.

I’ll start with Freshers Week

I purchased the ‘Gold Card’ in the picture above, giving me access to the Student Union whenever I feel and all Union run events for the academic year, for £50. For Freshers week this also got me free cloakroom and a certain degree of queue skip, so it was definitely worth it then. Drink was super cheap, £3 for a double vodka lemonade- whats not to love? I got to meet a load of new people, some of which I’ve got to become pretty good friends with so far, and it was pivotal in making me feel like part of the university. But, I went twice. It’s not that I didn’t like it, I had a great time at the Club MTV event, and seeing Cascada brought my childhood to life… but living at home is a major downside.

Living at Home…

I had some major battles with myself when deciding whether to move out or stay at home. Strathclyde isn’t exactly local, being a 40 minute bus ride away, but it is the closest university to where I live so I didn’t qualify for student housing, and so it wasn’t essential that I move. Little fact about myself, I’m the worst person at making decisions, and this was a pretty big one, and I’ll be honest… I chickened out. My parents weren’t really for it, so they stayed pretty quiet about the whole thing, not really giving their opinion- but their silence gave me all the clarification I needed. I’m a clean freak, I love my personal space, I like peace and quiet, me time, and while I like going out, I’m not into flat parties 24/7, so I decided it wasn’t for me.

Staying home is definitely adding to my exhaustion. On days where I have nine o’clock starts I have to be up at six thirty and out the door less than an hour later, sometimes not returning until six o’clock at night. Luckily my timetable isn’t full everyday, so I do get some relief, with late starts on a Monday and a Friday. I am £150 every twelve weeks for my travel expenses, and permitted its not too busy on the bus I can get some reading done on there, so its not all wasted time.

Speaking of reading, My Classes

I mentioned I’m a business student, but Strathclyde have a really unique course set up within its Business School. So although I applied initially for Marketing, I will also have to do four more modules to make up my first year course. After a week of taster lectures, I chose to pick up Hospitality and Tourism Management, Human Resource Management, Economics and Entrepreneurship. I’ve just completed my first week of classes and I can already tell I’m going to get snowed under with the workload if I don’t get my sh*t together. I think it might be time to whip out the Bullet Journal again because I’ve got a reading list as long as my arm.

So, my Overall First Impressions

Growing up, I put a lot of emphasis on university. A place where I would find myself, meet lifelong friends and discover where my life is going to go. So far, I’m underwhelmed, but somehow overwhelmed at the exact same time. Like I said, I’ve only just finished my first week of classes so I probably have to give it time to form a justified opinion. I’ll keep you updated.

Footnote

2 thoughts on “University // First Impressions

Leave a Reply

