Top 5 Spotify Playlists

If you are anything like me then you’ll have a larger incline to a particular song rather than the artist who performs it, for example, my favourite song is ‘Simple Song’ by The Shins, despite me knowing the lyrics to a single other Shins song. That’s just how it is. I’m far more partial to a playlist. And as much as I love owning music and getting to hit particular songs, I feel like there’s nowhere better for a good playlist than Spotify. I don’t have premium, hence me not being able to select a particular song whenever I like, so these playlists are 100% free to access which you can’t complain about really (except for the occasional pesky ad).

Depending on what I’m doing or what mood I’m in I’ll choose a playlist which I can either relate to or will put me in a much better mood. So here I’ve curated a top five list of my top five for any occasion.

1. Who Run The World? Girls.

Undoubtedly, this is my favourite of all time. Usually this is playing while I’m getting ready, while I’m tidying up, while I’m in the shower or even if I’m out and have a few drinks in me. These songs just, I think anyway, capture the full essence of girls. There’s such a range of songs that it doesn’t appeal to one emotion, you have some of the slower classics like Lana Del Rey’s Young and Beautiful and then next up could be Ger Ur Freak On. I personally think its just the most fun playlist ever and I love singing along and  dancing to it, alone or in company.

2. Pop Goes Classical

I personally don’t like studying to music with lyrics, because if I know it, I’ll just sing it and no work gets done for the duration of the playlist. And while I’m on the subject, can I just comment on the length because it’s absolutely perfect. How I tend to study is work for forty five minutes and then break for fifteen and this playlist is forty two minutes long! Throw in a couple of ads and this is the most perfect timing. This playlist is full of songs that you love but classical basically, I don’t really know how else to describe it. There is some Adele, Sam Smith and even some Queen Elsa; but done in a really nice classical arrangement which means that you still get that recognition of the song but not the incline to sing along. This is better not only for me, because I get some work done, but also the people in the surrounding area as I sound like a strangled cat.

3. The PMS Playlist

This is probably one of the best playlists I’ve ever come across. I personally think its hilarious that someones took the time to come up with this and genuinely spent time thinking about all of these songs which are the perfect mix. Personal highlight is definitely Bitch by Meredith Brooks, but starting with If I Were a Boy by Beyonce really is a work of genuis in itself. And don’t be fooled into thinking this is just for that time of the month.

4. Sing-Along Indie Hits

This is probably the weirdest playlist to claim reminds me of my childhood but its true. My dad used to, and still does, listen to a lot of this music and I sort of grew up on The Killers and Arctic Monkeys. This to me just screams Sunday afternoon and that is generally when it gets played.

5. Global Top 50

You can’t really beat the hits. This ones full of them and it changes every week. In terms of staying up to date in the music world, this is all you need. And I find that there’s always one little gem you’ve never heard before. I unfortunately cannot link this one, I’m assuming it’s just because it does change so often but if you go to the browse page it’s super easy to find and you can give it a follow.

Anyway that was my top five and if you do check them out let me know what you think. I can’t promise I’ll agree with you if you hate them, because clearly I think otherwise. Lastly, if any of you think I’m cool enough to have this be a sponsored post then you’re wrong, I just really like Spotify.

Holly xo

 

Leave a Reply

